Picture
Muslim women in the UK have a new beauty brand designed just for them. Businesswoman Samina Akhter has launched Samina Pure Makeup, a halal cosmetics label in which all lipsticks and shadows are made in strict accordance to Islamic law, the Daily Mail reports.

The makeup, which is imported from Australia, reportedly uses plant extracts and minerals rather than alcohol and animal products. Who knew?

"I don't feel comfortable praying with makeup on not knowing what was in there," Akhter told the paper.

"When I researched what was in makeup I found there was a lot of animal products included.

"I was shocked to find that some products contained alcohol and even pig placenta.

"Many Muslim women like me have been frustrated by wanting to look good and follow their faith.

"We've had women say, 'Thank you, now I can use products and pray without having to take the makeup off.'"

The products are certified by the Independent Halal Certification Authority Australia, which cracks down on products containing alcohol, blood, or pork.

"I'm not saying, 'Such-and-such product is haram [not halal] and we are halal -- you have to use us,'" Akhter admitted to the paper.

"Women have their own choices but at least they've got the option to do that."


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.